Persimmon Chutney!?

IMGP0104

Persimmon Chutney

As I said in my previous post, we have bumper crop of persimmons this year. Now I hate to see nature’s bounty go to waste but even my two fruit monsters can’t keep up with the persimmon crop this year.

Luckily, I was thinking about what to make for dinner this evening and was considering a nice curry when (as my great grandma used to say) “something struck I in the far head (forhead)”.

I used to make a delicious apple chutney in my single days. The family didn’t much care for it but recently DD2 seems to enjoy that sweet and sour taste I so adore. So I thought, “why not try persimmon chutney?” Besides my friend had given me a lovely bottle of malt vinegar for making chutneys and I hadn’t gotten round to last summer.

I did and it worked! It’s delightful. The Indian spices go very well with persimmons. I didn’t have any raisins this time but I’m sure they’d be perfect in there.

Chutney is a far better way to use up these persimmons than the jam I tried last year.

Here is a simple recipe I used

1 onion
50 cc malt vinegar

2 persimmons
50 gram raisins
20-50 gr sugar
1 tsp pickling spice
1/2 tsp salt

chop onion and heat with vinegar. Add other ingredients and simmer until soft. Add a few mint leaves, bottle and voila!

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in At Home. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

