Fall

Ah, autumn is quickly setting in and as I type this, I can see the persimmons on the tree. They are ready for picking and we have a bumper crop this year. I never knew of this fruit until I came to Japan and now I have 3 trees of sweet persimmons and 4 trees of the bitter ones. The bitter ones I dry every year for winter snacks.

The sweet ones we usually eat before they actually ripen. They have a lovely crunchy apple texture and a taste that seems a cross between an apple and a pumpkin?? Now that I actually have trees, I’ve learned that persimmons are best when left to ripen. They have a jelly like texture and are oh so sweet and gooey. Unfortunately, they can’t be kept for long like this.

Anyway, while picking our persimmons this year, DD2 reminded me of some stories from previous autumns. Several years ago, I was picking persimmons with the kids and the neighbour kids when one of these very ripe persimmons fell down and SPLAT! landed right on the neighbour boy’s head. He had gooey, sticky orange bits all over his head and shoulders. It was quite funny at the time.

Then DD1 reminded me of how last year another neighbourhood boy had gone up to the chestnut tree with DD1 and thought it would be a good idea to shake the nuts out of the tree. They were doing this and watching for their bounty to fall when WHAP! a chestnut still in it’s spiny shell fell and hit him right between the eyes. It’s funny now when we look back on it.

I guess that’s why they call it fall.

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in Kids DO the Darndest Things, Life in Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

