Dollhouse III part 11 (bathroom door)

I actually made this about 2 weeks ago but am only getting round to posting it now.

I found some perfect wood at the local Imagehardware shop. Then I cut a piece of plastic from an old container. I sanded it to give it that opaque bathroom door look. I thought I’d go with silver since most bathroom doors seem to be made from aluminum and I still had lots of paint left from painting the bath…

DSC_1514  wood painted

bathroomdoorBeforeWith a little assembly, voila, a great little bathroom door. Or so I thought but once it went in there it looked a little plain and stark. There was no reason for having gone through the trouble of sanding the piece of plastic. I thought about it all the while DD1 was moaning… “it doesn’t OPEN” and “You should make a ‘datsuiba’ =changing area” when the idea hit… A CHANGING AREA! Of course! I’ll make a fake one. I thought about some old bathrooms I’d been in (including the old one we tore out 5 years ago) and of course, all houses of that era had wood panel and the infamous blue sink. I got online again, got onto my editing software and merged 5 images from the net to get this…

bathroomPanelSmMy fake changing room. I put it behind the door and it looks pretty good. Here is the final result…bathroomdoorAfter

Now, on my coworkers advice, I’m going to make a mini ‘sunoko”= a little wood “floor cover” and an “oke” = a wash pan and glue the mirror back in there.

To be continued…

 

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in The Doll House. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

