Dollhouse III (in the beginning)

When I was a kid, my Dad made me a doll house. I played with it, I remodelled it again and again and again and as my skills improved, I made it even better. Then in high school, I made a doll house for myself.

When I came to Japan, I gave it to my friend’s daughters and gave up such “child’s play”.

DSC_0975

From the front

But, about 6 months ago, I found a really great, hand-made doll house on the net. It sat in our house for a while with great intentions of sprucing it up.

DSC_0978

This is a very well constructed house built by a Japanese grandpa. He based the design on the actual house he was living in at the time. He put a lot of work into this and there are some great details.   I hope to retain a lot of the character of this house so I have to be very careful with every step.

DSC_0979

The side

The other side

The other side

I finally had a little bit of time on my hands today, and thought that this would be some good quality time with the girls. They were thrilled, and the 4 year (DD2) old was enraptured for about 15 minutes! The 7 year old (DD1) hung on a little longer… She stayed a good 40 minutes, before she scampered off to play with the neighbour.

DSC_0988I knew there were working lights in this at one point so… off came the roof. This part was easy and it looks like the switches were in here. Then I took off the main roof. This was a tricky task. I have to be so careful to not break it yet there are nails and screws holding it together where I don’t expect them. I can’t just rip. Everything has to be plied off gently.

DSC_0982The wires were all there but there was no way I could figure them out. I really should have paid more attention in science class. I may have to go without lights or buy a set online.

DSC_0987The bathroom was quite cute but it needed new paint and a new floor. Also, The girls would have to reach in the little window (lower left) to play in there. It was quite awkward. I decided to take the bathroom wall off and put it on a hinge. When this is finished the girls can open the bathroom wall to play in there.

So off came the ceiling (can you see the little light- top right).

DSC_1001It took quite some time to pry off this wall. Is was a “double wall” to accommodate the plumbing (how cute!)DSC_1000.

DSC_1033 Since I really hope to keep the original feel to this, I have to be careful to keep all the little pieces that come off.

Now I had a very dismantled doll house and two very whiny, hungry children.

To be continued…

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in The Doll House and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dollhouse III (in the beginning)

  1. Pingback: 2013 Looking Back | Mrs Mom

Leave a Reply

