Happy 2013

Happy 2013! May this be a great year full of good things for you all.

This post is actually more like 2012 in review. Our family had a very happy, healthy and eventful 2012. Let me try to sum it up.

JANUARY: L and I climbed Odoyama as usual but we didn’t see the sun nor snow : (

K made a new kitchen table since we’d outgrown our old one (that I had made 10 years ago).

NCM_0004%232

Our new kitchen table

L turned 6 and shortly after,  we welcomed a new nephew to the family.

FEBRUARY: M started skating. She so wanted to copy her sister that we put a pair on her and she managed to move about a little.

IMGP1340

First time on skates

Both girls put off a great show in the kindergarten pageant.

IMGP1369

Tiny dancer

MARCH:

We went to Kyoto to meet my cousin. We ended up at Eiga Mura

IMGP1502

How do you like YOUR eggs

L “graduated” from kindergarten in a very emotional (for me) and moving ceremony. The director (who I love) also announced that she was “graduating” (aka: retiring).

IMGP1550

Encho-sensei, thank you for everything!

Mari (the dog) got loose and was away for three days! I really thought she was dead this time and realized how much I love that ol’ dog!

 

IMGP1322

APRIL:

201204-1stDaySchool

first day of school

L started school and we both had to get up so early every day. She liked school, but I really hated it. It doubled my workload and  “stole” my daughter.

M started swimming school and was fearless from day one.

DD2's First day at swimming school

DD2’s First day at swimming school

May: We went camping for the long Golden Week holiday.

The girls loved it until we took them out in a boat. Even I  (a Newfoundlander) have to admit the seas were pretty bad and I was a bit worried once we left the sheltered bay and got on the open seas.

IMGP1590

Great Big Sea

We will probably NEVER EVER get L in a boat again.

K cycled 200km in the annual Iwami Ride.

Iwami Grand Font

Iwami Grand Font

We were content to just cheer him on and play on the beach while waiting.

201205kuteBeach

Then I got a chance to meet one of my favorite Japanese singers (the one who gave me the idea for first daughter’s name)

ncm_0041

Leyona and R

JUNE: K was busy with his cycling group’s big event the “Azoji Hill Climb Race”. He couldn’t cycle it but he was busy as an organizer.

R and the kids played around in the garden a lot

IMGP0005

swinging monkey

JULY:

K and I swam the Takatsu River 3km Marathon. This was a big deal because it was the first time we could do anything together because the girls were finally able to stay with someone other than us (thank you Auntie Hiromi)

AUGUST:

I had 2 weeks holidays and packed up the girls and went on a road trip to the Tottori Sand Dunes!

IMGP0067

playing on the dunes

201208kidsCar

The girls loved the dunes but hated travelling in the car so long.

SEPTEMBER: Again, K was off to Matsue to cycle all over the Izumo region.

CA3I0019

View of Shinji Lake

We made a family trip of it and the girls and I went to “Vogel Park” to see the birds.

IMGP0111

Then we cheered our man on.

OCTOBER: K ran a half marathon at the Iwami Airport Marathon.

Halloween! I made a costume and finally was a queen for a day. Of course I loved it! my 2 girls were “princesses” and K was a “clown”. It says a lot for the family hierarchy.201210RenQueen

NOVEMBER:

M (3) finally got to celebrate her 7-5-3 festival by donning a kimono. She looked lovely but awkward. Unlike her sister who SOAKED up the attention, M was shy. We had trouble getting her to even pose for a picture.

201211-7-5-3

One good pose

DECEMBER: It’s always a busy month. Christmas was a big deal and we invited 2 family friends (well, friends who are more like family) to our Christmas dinner.

IMGP0294

Then only days later, It was M’s 4th birthday and only a day after all these festivities, we had to clean the house and I started New Year’s cooking.

Lucky we got it all done too because K’s son actually came and spent a day at our house! It was great to see him and the girls weren’t shy this time. Instead they were jumping all over the guy.

IMGP0299

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in Letters to Friends and Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

