Our Reindeer Dog!!!

Lapland reindeer dog?

Our "lapland reindeer dog"

Every year, my friend sends me a hilarious Christmas e-card with pictures of her family and lots of speech bubbles. I look forward to it every year and this year I decided to show it to DH.

Maybe something got lost in translation when I tried to explain to him that back home it is not the least bit unusual to put antlers on the family pet (obviously a DOG because no cat will ever allow this). SO I searched “reindeer dog” on the net to find lots of pictures of hapless “festive” pets when low and behold, we stumbled on a dog with no antlers but eerily similar to our own “antlerless” pooch. I clicked on this link only to find lots of dogs just like our own.

Ole Mari is a rescue dog. We know she is about 8 and was probably bred to be a hunting dog???? but looking at this I realize that she may have some of this DNA in her.

At least now when people ask “what kind of dog is that” I’ll answer that she’s a “lapland reindeer dog” instead of the usual “oh, just a mutt”. I know she’s likely not a purebred castaway, but it sure is nice to have a cool name for her..

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

