Let’s give thanks

Oct 13th was Thanksgiving back in Canada and it always conincides with a national holiday here in Japan too (sports day).

We didn't do anything in particular to celebrate either of the holidays but as I tucked my little girl in after a story (a special event in our house since I work evenings) I thought it would be a good chance to reflect on our fortune.
I was hoping to instill a little "thankfulness" in this toddler.

Our conversation became quite simple. To bring it to her level I thought that this would be fine;

Me: We are very lucky. We have many things to be thankful for
DD: (showing complete lack of conprehension) huh?
Me: What are you happy to have?
DD: (again showing complete lack of conprehension) eh?
Me: What are good things in your life? (hoping she's say "Mommy" or "Daddy")
DD: TOMOTOES!

Life is simple, isn't it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in Kids Say the Darndest Things. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

