I just don’t get it…

 One thing I have always found absurd in this country is that they always complain of being cold in winter. Of course it's cold! Of course I do my fair share of complaining too especially in the early days when I would be infuriated by the lack of central heating and lack of decent heating in general. Now with global warming catching up with us I don't mind using one heater to heat 2 or three rooms and gladly turn it off when not in use. I put on my extra layers.

 Despite this "cold" my students will wear skirts with bare legs exposed to the elements (and the ogling male population). Then they complain that it's cold!? Hey I KNOW I must have done something equally as stupid when I was a "fashionable teen" but the memory lets me forget that. But anyway, that's not what I don't get.

 If you watch the little kids you will see them all in their uniforms and the boys will be in shorts and the girls in skirts. This is mandatory whether they like it or not. All Japanese adults will tell you that the kids are not cold (again I'm sure there are memories failing here!). This will be all year too. On a cold February day you will see kids walking home in the snow (though less of that stuff these days) with rubber boots and shorts.

 So, when Sprout is bigger I am supposed to send her off to school in a skirt (bare legs) no matter the weather? Now here is where it gets funny.

 I love cycling and hiking and stuff and hope to take Sprout with me as much as possible. SO I was talking about taking her out on the bike to look at the Christmas lights and my Japanese friend exclaimed "The BIKE!? My god that's too cold. She'll catch a cold!" Obviously they must think I dress her in a school uniform.

 In any case she'll have on more clothes than several school kids put together and likely only her face will be visible. Now if they'd only let me send her to school like that, I'd be happy.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in Musings on Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

