29 again!

I had a great birthday. I made lots of jokes of taking longer to celebrate at this age so I started Sat. night. Some friends joined me for dinner.  Where I had a lovely plate of spicy miso grilled scallops and all the fixins then off to the pub. I really didn’t want to go drinking but some friends had made a reservation. Of course I thoroughly enjoyed myself once there. Then some of them came back to mine for the first time in ages. Once upon a time that was the norm.  We all ended up at mine til the wee hours chatting, playing guitar and stuff.

While there got a phone call from a friend who used to live in this town but

transferred. He was in town too so he dropped by. Then we all had to get up the next morning for a hike.  It was freezing cold!! but we lit a fire, roasted weinies and marshmallows. There was quite the gang.  Even a 5 year old boy who was doing all this for the first time.  We all had to bring a stick of wood as part of the deal.  Kuon brought a chair (mind you it WAS broken) but it looked really funny when he put it on the fire.

Then off to the spa for a soak and a gab then off to my favorite coffee shop (the one where I part timed) where more friends were there to wish me well and all of the other clean (but smoky clothed) hikers had gathered.

By this time I needed a catnap, before I went off to another coffee shop to see my friend sing. This is her second gig and I hope it continues. She has a marvelous voice!

And this morning Mom and Dad called. Given we nomads only have cell phones that’s a REAL treat as I haven’t heard their voices in a year.

I got lots of presents and Koji has given me the same present Dad gave me 16 years ago; he quit smoking.  Will he succeed?? We need nicorettes!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About MrsMom

Just another Mom but trying my best to raise my two in the outback of Japan
This entry was posted in Letters to Friends and Family, Life in Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

